Dear Officer…

Dear State Trooper who pulled me over today:

First of all, I want to make it clear.  I hold the up most respect to those in your profession.  Your job is very important and the work that you do is valuable.  I know that your job can be very tough at times and I appreciate you for your service.

I really don’t know what happened; why you pulled me over.  Maybe you were bored because it was out in the middle of nowhere and there was not much traffic at all.  Maybe you just needed to talk to someone.  Maybe, just maybe you made a mistake and you really thought that I needed to be pulled over.  I get it.  I’m human too.   I just want to tell you my side of the story.

I don’t get angry often.  I don’t get offended often, but when someone falsely accuses me of doing something that I am positive that I did not do, something that I am passionately against, I get quite upset.  Like when you accused me of not wearing my seatbelt and when you pulled me over, that I must have sneaked it on because I was obviously wearing it when you came to the window.

I know, I know, you don’t know me.  You don’t know that I NEVER, EVER go without my seatbelt.  You don’t know that since I was a child that my mother made sure that I ALWAYS wore my seatbelt, even back in the days when backseat belts were not required.  She made sure that some were installed if we bought a car without backseat belts.  You don’t know that wearing a seatbelt is ingrained into my subconscious self.  You don’t know that because of my mother, I have raised my kids the same way.  They are trained to ALWAYS wear their seatbelts.  You don’t know that I almost lost my Aunt when I was a teenager.  She wasn’t wearing her belt and was thrown from her car.

You don’t know that within a year this year that the small community that I live in has suffered from very bad accidents (I have no idea if seatbelts were factor or not).  You don’t know that I almost lost another Aunt and a best friend to accidents.  You don’t know that I was involved in my own vehicle accident…and guess what, I had my seatbelt on.

You don’t know that I am from an EMT and Firefighter family and that we have a pretty good clue about what happens when someone doesn’t wear their belts in an accident.

You don’t know that when I climbed into the car this morning to travel far to drop off my first-born child at school, that I buckled up before I even put the key in the ignition.  You don’t know that buckling up is so important to us that even the stuffed animals my daughter brought to school with her were buckled up!

You don’t know that I am not a liar.  I wish that you believed me.  I think that maybe you did.  I thank you for giving me a verbal warning, even when I don’t need it.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

